The Allman Betts Band

The Allman Betts Band info icon

When The Allman Betts Band’s debut album, Down to the River, entered the rock charts at #1 in June of 2019, it was obvious that these talented progeny were more than ready to bring their original repertoire to generations of fans, old and new. They were also primed to carry forward the illustrious spirit and tradition of their fathers’ group, The Allman Brothers Band. Formed by guitarist/singer Devon Allman and guitarist/singer Duane Betts, and including bassist Berry Duane Oakley (three sons of The Allman Brothers Band founders: Gregg Allman, Dickey Betts, and Berry Oakley, respectively), the septet features organist John Ginty, slide guitarist Johnny Stachela, and percussionists John Lum and R. Scott Bryan. Working with producer Matt Ross-Spang, and featuring guests Chuck Leavell and Peter Levin, the burgeoning ABB recorded their inaugural effort at Alabama’s Muscle Shoals Sound Studio, and following its June 28 release, launched an incredibly well-received international 2019 summer tour.